By Woodbine Communications/ Chris Lomon

TORONTO, October 5, 2023 – This year’s edition of the prestigious $750,000 Canadian International (G1T), set for this Sunday at Woodbine, has once again attracted a top-class field of turf talents from across the world.

Having returned after a year’s absence – the race was paused in 2022 due to travel complications prompted by the worldwide pandemic – the 84th edition of the International will see eight runners vie for top prize in the 1 ¼-mile race contested over the world-renowned E.P. Taylor Turf Course.

The stakes-laden day of racing, which also features the $750,000 E.P. Taylor (G1T), $250,000 Nearctic (G2T), and $200,000 Algonquin (five furlongs on the inner turf), will include a special tribute to the 50th anniversary of the legendary Secretariat’s iconic 1973 International triumph, highlighted by a “Big Red” exhibit presented by the National Museum of Racing & Hall of Fame, showcased at Woodbine from October 5-8.

British Royalty, a 5-year-old son of English Channel-Queen Martha, is no stranger to success on the E.P. Taylor turf, having won the 2021 Breeders’ Stakes (third jewel in the Canadian Triple Crown), at 1 ½ miles.

Trained by Barbara Minshall, who co-owns with Bruce Lunsford, the bay gelding, bred in Ontario by Richard Lister, is 2-4-1 from 21 career starts.

English Conqueror, fourth in the 2021 edition of the Canadian International, is trained by Darwin Banach for owner William Sorokolit, Jr. The 6-year-old son of English Channel-Regal Conqueror, who is 3-4-8 from 26 starts, has raced three times in the U.S., earning a pair of seconds and a third.

He was bred in Ontario by JWS Farms.

Field for the Grade 1 Canadian International

Post position – Horse – Jockey – Trainer ​

1 – British Royalty – Emma-Jayne Wilson – Barbara Minshall

2 – Dynadrive – Rafael Hernandez – Michael Maker

3 – Palazzi – Sahin Civaci – Mark Casse

4 – Nations Pride (IRE) – William Buick – Charlie Appleby

5 – English Conqueror – Javier Castellano – Darwin Banach

6 – Starting Over – Trevor McCarthy – Michael Maker

7 – Adhamo (IRE) – Kazushi Kimura – Chad Brown

8 – Royal Champion (IRE) – James Doyle – Roger Varian